The Housing Division organized the resources on this page to assist you with your housing needs and questions. We do not regulate condominiums or enforce landlord-tenant law.
This page includes information on:
- Mortgage Help
- Vermont Property Tax Homestead Declaration
- Financing and Home Repairs
- Staying in Your Home
- Resources for Renting Your House
- Historic Homes
For additional resources, visit our Housing Links page, which includes more than 80 programs and organizations throughout Vermont.
The Homeownership Preservation Foundation (1-888-995-HOPE) is a network of nonprofit agencies that offer free services to distressed homeowners to help budget and avoid foreclosure whenever possible.
Vermont Property Tax Homestead Declaration
In Vermont, all property is subject to education property tax to pay for the state’s schools. For this purpose, property is categorized as either non-homestead or homestead. A homestead is the principal dwelling and parcel of land surrounding the dwelling, owned and occupied by the resident as the person’s domicile. Property owners whose homes meet the definition of a Vermont homestead must file a Homestead Declaration annually by the April filing deadline. To learn more, visit the Vermont Department of Taxes Homestead Declaration webpage.
Local - Financing and Home Repairs
NeighborWorks® Alliance of Vermont homeownership centers are often the best place to start whether you're looking for your first home or already own a home or mobile home. Homeownership centers are your one-stop resource for home credit and finance, foreclosure prevention, home repair loans and services, weatherization, energy improvement, and even flood disaster assistance. In addition, some homeownership centers offer mobile home repair loans for mobile homes in parks.
Chittenden (except Burlington), Franklin, and Grand Isle Counties: Champlain Housing Trust's Housing Loan Fund provides home improvement, energy efficiency, and access modification loans to eligible homeowners. For information, call (802) 861-7388.
Windham and Windsor Counties: The Green Mountain Home Repair for income-eligible homeowners is available through Windham & Windsor Housing. This program offers low-cost loans, flexible terms, and support with identifying a contractor and project oversight and includes a $2,500 grant toward the cost reducing the amount you need to repay.
Washington, Orange, and Lamoille Counties: Downstreet Housing and Community Development also offers a Green Mountain Home Repair Program, similar to the program offered by Windham and Windsor Housing Trust (see section above for more details about the program).
Statewide- Financing and Home Repairs
Manufactured Housing: Champlain Housing Trust also offers a Manufactured Housing Down Payment Loan Program, which assists mobile home owners purchase or replace their mobile home with an Energy Star rated manufactured home. For information, call (802) 861-7388. CHT also administers the Vermont Housing and Conservation Board (VHCB) Purchase Subsidy Program to assist low-income households upgrade or replace deteriorated mobile homes in VHCB-assisted mobile home parks, provide down payment assistance and prevent foreclosure.
Low-interest Mortgage Loans and Down Payment Assistance: The Vermont Housing Finance Agency (VHFA) provides low-interest mortgage loans through participating lenders for low- and moderate-income Vermonters and zero-interest down payment assistance loans of up to $5,000. VHFA finances purchase-only loans for single-family homes, condominiums, and duplexes. (VHFA does not finance single-wide mobile homes or mobile homes in parks.)
Financing: The Opportunities Credit Union is a nonprofit financial institution that offers both conventional fixed and adjustable rate mortgages, home equity loans, and loans for mobile homes on owned land and in mobile home parks. Visit their website for information. Opportunities also offers home repair and energy improvement loans.
Wastewater & Water Systems: The Vermont Wastewater and Potable Water Revolving Loan Fund, also known as the On-site Loan Program, is available to certain Vermont residents to repair or replacement of failed on-site wastewater and water supply systems.
Repair Loans: USDA Rural Development offers very low-income housing repair loans and grants for rural homeowners and mobile home owners in approved parks in Vermont and New Hampshire.
Weatherization: Efficiency Vermont offers 0% interest financing for low and moderate-income Vermonters (and low rates for incomes over $90,000) for home weatherization and heating projects through its Home Energy Loans. Loans can also include any health and safety measures and repairs necessary to do the underlying project up to 50% of the total loan amount.
Staying in Your Home
The Vermont Department of Disabilities, Aging and Independent Living (DAIL) has several programs to help older Vermonters and people with disabilities. Through the Vermont Association of Area Agencies on Aging, DAIL operates the Senior Helpline for older Vermonters at 1-800-642-5119.
Home sharing assists elders and people with disabilities to live independently in their own homes by bringing them together with people who seek affordable housing and caregiving opportunities. HomeShare Vermont serves the counties of Addison, Chittenden, Franklin, and Grand Isle in northwestern Vermont and the central Vermont counties of Lamoille, Orange, and Washington. Contact HomeShare Vermont at 802-863-5625.
USDA Rural Development offers very low-income housing repair loans and grants for rural homeowners and mobile home owners in approved parks in Vermont and New Hampshire. They provide loans up to $40,000 for eligible applicants for home improvement/modernization, health and safety. USDA-RD also offers grants of up to $10,000 to eligible applicants (62 and older) for health, safety, and accessibility modifications for household members with disabilities.
The Vermont Center for Independent Living Home Access Program (HAP) provides home entry and bathroom accessibility modifications for low-income Vermonters with physical disabilities. Visit their website or call 1-800-639-1522.
The Department of Housing and Community Development does not have jurisdiction over state condominium statutes or regulate condominium associations. We provide these links for your convenience. We recommend consulting an attorney familiar with these laws if you have specific questions.
Uniform Common Interest Ownership Act (27A VSA; 1994, amended in 2012)
This statute relates to condominiums in Vermont. However, it may not apply if the condominium was established before January 1, 1999, or has fewer than 24 units.
Condominium Ownership Act (27 VSA Chapter 15; 1967)
This statute relates to condominiums in Vermont, the protection of tenants in the conversion of rental units, and the protection of tenants in the conversion of mobile home parks. This statute applies to all properties that have submitted a "Declaration of Condominium," a legal document filed in the town land records.
Resources for Renting Your House
Check out our page on Accessory Dwelling Units to learn more about adding an apartment to your house.
To learn more about your responsibilities and rights as a landlord, read Finding Common Ground: the Definitive Guide to Renting in Vermont. This publication is created by the Champlain Valley Office of Economic Opportunity (CVOEO) and the Vermont Landlords Association.
You can review the Vermont Rental Housing Health Code at this link or review the Code Highlights and Information Sheets for codes administered by the Vermont Department of Public Safety, Fire Safety Division.
If you own a historic home and have questions about eligibility for the National Register of Historic Places or financial assistance, contact the Division for Historic Preservation.