Skip to main content

Downtown Development Board

The Vermont Downtown Development Board is chartered by 24 V.S.A. § 2792 and it administers the Downtown Development Act. The Board supports the preservation and enhancement of Vermont’s distinctive landscape of compact centers surrounded by rural land with policies and programs including the state designation programs, rehabilitation tax credits and grants. The members of the Downtown Board represent a variety of state agencies, organizations and communities.

Board Members

  • Alex Farrell (Chair), designated by the Secretary of Commerce and Community Development
  • Michele Boomhower (vice-chair), designated by the Secretary of Transportation
  • Charlie Baker, designated by the Vermont Association of Planning and Development Agencies
  • Bruce Cheeseman, appointed by the Governor, representing local government
  • Billy Coster, designated by the Secretary of Natural Resources
  • Cathy Davis, appointed by the Governor, representing the VT Association of Chamber Executives
  • Michael Desrochers, designated by the Commissioner of Public Safety
  • Sarah Hadd, designated by the Vermont League of Cities and Towns
  • Sabina Haskell, Chair of the Natural Resources Board
  • Jaime Lee, appointed by the Governor, representing the Vermont Natural Resources Council and the Preservation Trust of Vermont
  • Michael McDonough, appointed by the Governor, representing local government
  • Chip Sawyer, designated by the Vermont Planners Association
  • Laura Trieschmann, State Historic Preservation Officer

Next Downtown Board Meeting 

February 26, 2024 @ 1:00PM - 3:00PM

Agenda, including links to supporting materials

Virtual meeting via Microsoft Teams

To digitally join the meeting, click here.
Meeting ID:268338820601
Passcode: CaEsD3

To join the meeting via audio (phone) only,
Conference ID: 905515283#

Meeting Minutes 
Directions to National Life 
Parking at National Life