The Department provides the forms and notices park owners need to sell your mobile home park, raise the lot rent, and register the park, and has authority to impose penalties for violations of the mobile home park law, bring suit in civil court, or refer such violations to the Attorney General or State's Attorney. Our staff can answer questions and help with compliance with the law and rules.
Park registration - All park owners are required to register by September 1. Registration information will be mailed by July 31 but you can register online any time after July 1. This year the lot fee will remain at $12 per occupied leased lot. For information about the 2017 registration and more see Facts and Park Registry.
Lot rent increases
Vermont law requires 60 days' notice to each Leaseholder and the Commissioner on the Mobile Home Park Lot Rent Increase form and Worksheet provided by the Department. Any increase of more than one percent above the one-year change in CPI-Housing as determined by the Department is eligible for mediation. The mediation threshold for 2018 is 3.9%.
Fillable rent increase form: File will open in a new window. If necessary click View, Edit Document to complete this form. Tab through all Fields. "Save As" when finished.
Printable rent increase form:
2018 Notice of Lot Rent Increase and Worksheet (pdf)
Owner's Affidavit for Capital Improvements Surcharge (pdf) - Required for any increase that includes a surcharge for capital improvements, which is defined as the replacement or repair of any major infrastructure system that costs more than $2,500.
Park sale – Vermont law requires 45 days’ notice by certified mail, return receipt requested, to each mobile home owner and the Commissioner before selling a mobile home park. (* With exceptions for sales or transfers among family members, through foreclosure, to a trust solely benefiting a park owner’s family members, among partners who are owners, incidental to financing, among owners as joint tenants or tenants in common, pursuant to eminent domain, or pursuant to a municipal tax sale.) The law also requires a sale notice before closing a mobile home park unless certain conditions are met.
Forms effective April 12, 2013 (updated 6/15/18). Failure to use the current forms may render a Notice of Intent to Sell invalid, requiring a re-notification. Notice of Intent to Sell must be sent by Certified Mail Return Receipt Requested. If refused or not deliverable the notice must be re-sent by First Class mail to the mobile home owner's last known mailing addres. The Department will be happy to review any notices to ensure they are complete and accurate before mailing them to the residents.
Notice of Intent to Sell a Mobile Home Park forms and Instructions (doc) If necessary click View, Edit Document to complete this form. "Save As" when finished.
Park closure - Vermont law requires 18 months' notice by certified mail to each affected resident or leaseholder and the Commissioner before closing a mobile home park. Notice of Intent to Sell is required before issuing a closure unless the land owner files a restriction in the land records stating that the property will not be sold for a period of five years from the closure notice. Contact us for the required forms and instructions.
Leases - Vermont law requires written leases in mobile home parks. The minimum requirements for lot leases are outlined in the Housing Division Rules. Park owners are required to provide a copy of the current lease to any leaseholder upon request.
Model MHP Lot Lease (doc) - meets basic statutory requirements. Updated June 2014. Developed by the CVOEO Mobile Home Program and reviewed by DHCD.
Rent to Own
Under Vermont law, a executed Retail Installment Sales Contract that complies with 9 VSA Chapter 59 and a Mobile Home Uniform Bill of Sale are both required to transfer ownership under a rent-to-own or lease-purchase agreement. The bill of sale needs to be completed, executed, endorsed, and filed with the Town Clerk to transfer ownership to the buyer. If ownership is not transferred, the rent-to-own is considered a rental agreement meaning the "buyer" is a tenant with all of the rights and protections of Vermont landlord-tenant law.
Rules - The Housing Division Rules govern many aspects of owning and operating mobile home parks in Vermont, including the Rules for Mobile Home Park Warranty of Habitability.
Revised Above Ground Storage Tank Rules went into effect on August 15, 2017. Brochures and more information are available from the VT Fuel Dealers Assocation
Online or contact the Vermont Department of Taxes at (802) 828-2865 or toll-free at 1-866-828-2865
Are there Underground Heating Oil Storage Tanks (UST's) in your park that need removal?
Information on loans for removing, installating, and upgrading UST's is available from ANR's Waste Management Division.
What are the rules about discrimination?
The Rights of Households with Children and the Rights of Persons with Disabilities in Housing (pdf)
- Applies to the initial set up of new manufactured homes, effective May 1, 2016
- Installer licensing information and list of licensed installers
- Inspection information and list of qualified inspectors
- Mobile home retailer responsibilities and disclosures