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Notice of Mobile Home Park Lot Rent Increase

Dear Leaseholder(s): Today’s Date

This form tells you about an increase in your mobile home park lot rent including your right to dispute certain
increases. It consists of two pages: “Notice of Mobile Home Park Lot Rent Increase” and “Lot Rent Increase Worksheet”
and is required by Vermont law. 10 VSA Section 6251. Please read this notice carefully. If you have questions about the
increase or other park questions, please contact the park owner or manager. For questions about your rights, you may
contact the Department at the address or phone number on the bottom of this page.

1. Name of Mobile Home Park Town

2. Name of Park Owner Telephone
Address of Owner
Town State ___ Zip Code

3. Effective , 2021 your Lot Rent is increasing by $__ , (worksheet line 6) and your
New Payment will be $ (worksheet line 9). This is an increase of percent.

INCREASES MORE THAN 3.1 PERCENT ARE ELIGIBLE FOR MEDIATION.

LEGAL REQUIREMENTS FOR LOT RENT INCREASES

The Commissioner of the Department of Housing and Community Development and all affected leaseholders must be
notified of any lot rent increase at least 60 days before the effective date.

The notice of proposed lot rent increase MUST BE ON THIS FORM, and include:

The amount of the proposed lot rent increase, and the percent of increase from the current base lot rent
The effective date of the increase, and

A copy of your legal rights (your rights are included on this form)

If the increase includes a new capital improvement surcharge the Worksheet must include:

1. The monthly amount of the surcharge.
2. The estimated cost of the capital improvements, and
3. The proposed duration of the surcharge prorated in 12-month increments

LOT RENT INCREASE DISPUTES (MEDIATION RIGHTS)

. If the Percent of Increase on this form is more than 3.1%, the increase is eligible for mediation. You can request
mediation by filing a petition with the Commissioner and the mobile home park owner, but you must do so
within 15 business-days. For assistance call the CVOEO Mobile Home Program at (802) 660-3455 ext. 204.

. Your petition must be signed by a majority of the leaseholders affected by the increase include a statement that
you dispute the increase and indicate who will act as your representative. The department recommends that you
select more than one representative in case you need an alternate.

o Your representative and the park owner will contact mediators on a roster provided by the Department. If they
can’t agree on a mediator within 5 business-days, then the Commissioner will appoint a mediator for you. The
Department pays the mediator from the Mobile Home Park Fund.

. Once a mediator is selected, he or she will schedule a mediation session with your representative(s) and the
park owner. The park owner must provide the documents or information that he or she feel support the requested
lot rent increase at least five days before the mediation session. You and the park owner, or your
representative(s), must participate in the mediation and attempt to resolve the dispute.

. The mediation must be completed no later than 10 days before the effective date of the proposed lot rent
increase. The mediator will write a report of the outcome signed by him/herself and the parties to the mediation,
and submit the report to the park owner, your representative, and the Commissioner.

Vermont Department of Housing and Community Development
One National Life Drive, Deane C. Davis Building - 6 Floor, Montpelier, VT 05620-0501
(802)-828-3211
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LOT RENT INCREASE WORKSHEET

(See Instructions)
EFFECTIVE DATE OF INCREASE:

Name of Mobile Home Park:
Number of Lots Affected: Rent Tier (if applicable)
1. Current Base Lot Rent: $ Do Not Include Lot Fee
2. BASE LOT RENT INCREASE: $
3. New Base Lot Rent: $ LINE 1 + LINE 2
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6. AMOUNT OF INCREASE:
7. New Lot Rent:

8. State of Vermont lot fee:

CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT SURCHARGES

4. Previous surcharge, if any: $

4a. Previous surcharge, if any: $

5. NEW SURCHARGE: $

Description of work:

Expired surcharge (informational only)

Description:

Expires (month/year):
Expires (month/year):
Expires (month/year):
Duration in 12-month increments:

Total estimated cost: $

Original effective date:

$ . per month
LINE2 +LINE 5

LINE 3 + LINES 4, 4A, AND 5

ENTER $1.00 IF FEE IS ADDED TO RENT
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9. NEW PAYMENT: LINE 7 + LINE 8

10. PERCENT OF INCREASE: (see instructions) . % LINE 6+ LINE 1 X 100 (CARRY OUT 2 DECIMALS)

IF “PERCENT OF INCREASE” IS MORE THAN 3.1% A MAJORITY OF THE AFFECTED LEASEHOLDERS CAN
DISPUTE THE INCREASE BY FILING A PETITION WITH THE MOBILE HOME PARK OWNER AND THE
COMMISSIONER OF THE DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING & COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT WITHIN 15
BUSINESS-DAYS. MEDIATION IS EXPLAINED IN DETAIL ON THE FIRST PAGE OF THIS FORM.

RIGHT TO CIVIL ACTION

e If the disputed increase is not resolved through mediation, a majority of the affected leaseholders may file a
lawsuit in Superior Court for abatement of some or all of the increase based on a claim that the increase is
clearly excessive. Any lawsuit must be filed no more than 30 days after the effective date of the increase.
While the case is in court you will pay the rent including the increase to the park owner who will put the
increase in a court escrow fund until the court rules on the increase.!

1 Except: “No abatement action may be filed if the rent increase is effective following a completed sale of the mobile home park
which was contingent upon the increase, provided at least 6 months’ notice has been given.” (Housing Division Rules, Part I, 6.4)

Vermont Department of Housing and Community Development
One National Life Drive, Deane C. Davis Building - 6 Floor, Montpelier, VT 05620-0501
(802)-828-3211




LOT RENT INCREASE WORKSHEET INSTRUCTIONS

Category / Description of Lots (rent tier) — The type of
lot paying the rent amount on this form if the park has
more than one category or tier of rent. For example;
double wide, lots with cement pads, new lots, etc.
Otherwise leave BLANK or write “Standard Lot Rent”.

1. Current base lot rent — Enter the current base lot rent.
The base lot rent is the amount due if rent is paid on the
due date (typically the 1st day of the month). The base lot
rent does not include any amount of the rent attributable
to a surcharge for capital improvements, late fees or
“discounts”, or the State lot fee. Example $300.00.

2. Base lot rent increase — Enter the amount of the base
lot rent increase, not including any new surcharge for
capital improvements. Example $9.00.

3. New base lot rent — Add the base lot rent increase to
the base lot rent and enter the total here (line 1 + line 2).
Example 3300 + 89 = $309.

4. Previous surcharge(s) — When applicable, enter the
monthly amount, per lot, of any surcharge(s) for capital
improvements that have not expired. Also enter the
expiration date (last month the surcharge is included in
the lot rent). For example: 310 surcharge for water
system improvement, effective June 2012 duration 60
months, expires May 2017.

5. NEW CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT SURCHARGE
— Any portion of a lot rent increase due to recovery of the
estimated Cost of Capital Improvements must be
separated out as a surcharge. A capital improvement
includes replacement or repair of any major infrastructure
system that costs more than $2.500 This notice must
include the total estimated cost of the capital
improvements, the duration of the surcharge in 12-month
increments (12,24,36...), and the amount of the lot rent
increase that is attributable to the surcharge. For example:
815,000 to upgrade water supply, spread over a five-year
period at a twenty-five-lot park = $10/month: (315,000 +
60 months = 8250 + 25 lots = $10). Enter the expiration
date which is the last month that the surcharge is included
in the lot rent.

NOTE: For any capital improvements surcharge the owner
must file an affidavit with the Commissioner of DHCD. A
form affidavit is available for use to comply with this
requirement. Please see our website or call.

6. Amount of increase — Add the base lot rent increase plus
any new surcharge for capital improvements and enter the
total here (line 2 + line 5). Example $9 + $10 = $19.

7. New lot rent — Add the new base lot rent, unexpired
surcharges, and new surcharge and enter the amount here
(line 3 + line 4 + line 5). Example: 3309 + $10 = $319.

Or add previous surcharges and amount of increase to base
lot rent (line 1 + line 4, 4a + line 6).

8. State of Vermont lot fee — If the State lot registration fee
($12.00 per occupied leased lot annually) is recouped on a
monthly basis in addition to the rent, enter $1.00, otherwise
leave blank or write N/A. Do not include in amount on Line
1.

9. New payment — If applicable, add the State of Vermont
lot fee to the new rent plus surcharges and enter the total (line
7 + line 8). Otherwise, simply enter the amount from line 7.

10. Percent of increase — Divide the amount of increase by
the current base rent (line 6 + line 1), and then multiply by
100. Carry out two decimal places (round up if necessary).
Example: $19 +$300 x 100 = 6.33%.

Expired surcharge(s) — Any surcharge for capital
improvements must end once the park owner has recovered
the actual cost of the improvements. For example; a $10
surcharge (see #4 above) for water system improvements that
expires May 2017 must be removed from the rent effective
June 1, 2017. This line is informational only to inform the
leaseholders that a surcharge has expired and is no longer
being collected with the rent.

ACCD.VERMONT.GOV/HOUSING

Vermont Department of Housing and Community Development
One National Life Drive, Deane C. Davis Building - 6 Floor, Montpelier, VT 05620-0501
(802)-828-3211



	LEGAL REQUIREMENTS FOR LOT RENT INCREASES
	LOT RENT INCREASE WORKSHEET  (See Instructions)
	Expired surcharge (informational only)    Original effective date: _____________


	If No Surcharge Go To #6
	LOT RENT INCREASE WORKSHEET INSTRUCTIONS
	Blank Page



