
Designated Downtowns and Village Centers Tax Credit Matrix

20% Historic (Federal) 10% Historic (State) 25% Façade (State) 50% Technology (State) 50% Code (State)

Eligible buildings
Income-producing property 
listed OR eligible for listing in 
the National Register.

Approved federal 
application and located 
within a Designated 
Downtown or Village Center.

Built before 1983 and located within a Designated Downtown or Village Center District. 

Eligible applicants Individuals and businesses. Individuals, businesses and non-profit organizations.

Eligible work

Hard and some soft costs.

Exceptions include site work 
and additions, including 
elevator towers.

All costs eligible for the 20%.

Cost exceeding $100K for 
elevator and sprinklers are 
eligible.

Improvements to the front of the 
building only as approved by 
Downtown staff.

Installation and improvements 
to data or network wiring and 
heating, ventilating and cooling 
(HVAC) systems related to 
technology upgrades (e.g. AC for 
server rooms).

Elevator, Sprinkler, and Lift and code work as 
required by the Department of Public Safety 
(DPS).

Design Standards Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for Rehabilitation.

Minimum investment More than $5,000 OR the adjusted basis of the property, 
whichever is greater. 

More than $5,000 AND less than 
the building’s adjusted basis. More than $5,000.

Credit Cap

Total credits capped at $2.4 M per state 
fiscal year.  

Community cap of no more than 30% of total 
credit amount available. 

None.

May be combined with the 
state 10% Historic, 50% 
Technology and 50% Code 
credits.

10% of the first $500,000 in 
project costs and half the 
costs exceeding $500,000.   

May be combined with the 
50% Technology and 50% 
Code credit.

$25,000. 

May be combined with the 50% 
Technology and 50% Code 
credit.

$30,000. 

May be combined with 25% 
Façade and %50 Code credit.

$50,000 for a sprinkler system; $50,000 for an 
elevator; 

$40,000 for a LULA; 

$12,000 for a lift;

$50,000 for other code work.  

May be combined with the Federal 20%. If 
eligible, the credit may be combined with the 
10% historic credit OR 25% Façade and 50% 
Technology credit but never both.

Time limit 24 months; 60 months for 
phased project. Project must be completed within 60 months from date of allocation or the credits are forfeited.

Carry forward claimed over 5 years (4% 
each year) 9 years.

Application Process

No deadline.

Pre-construction consultation 
strongly encouraged.

Approved Part 1 and 2. Part 
1 certifies the building as 
historic.  Part 2 describes the 
proposed rehabilitation.  

Applications due July 1 until 
credits are exhausted.

Eligible projects must have 
approved Part 2 from NPS.  

Application reviewed by 
Vermont Downtown Board.

Applications due July 1 until 
credits are exhausted.

Pre-construction consultation 
recommended.  

Application reviewed by Vermont 
Downtown Board.

Applications due July 1 until 
credits are exhausted.

Certification from qualified 
engineer required.

Application reviewed by Vermont 
Downtown Board.

Applications due July 1 until credits are exhausted.

Proof of DPS inspection required to apply.  

Application reviewed by Vermont Downtown 
Board.

Part 3 certified by the NPS. 
File IRS Form 3468.

Credits issued to applicant or as a Bank Credit Certificate or Insurance Credit Certificate. Attach approved Tax Credit Certificate to State Forms.

*To determine tax implications for sale of tax credits specific to your circumstances, consult accountant or tax attorney.

For More Information Contact: 

Caitlin Corkins at (802) 828.3047 
caitlin.corkins@vermont.gov
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