Economic Mitigation and Recovery Task Force

The State of Vermont Economic Mitigation & Recovery Task Force, established by Governor Scott, is charged with providing technical assistance and expertise to mitigate the devastating short-term economic impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic, and with developing strategies designed to speed long-term business and community recovery. The task force is comprised of job creators, community leaders and business representatives from each region.

Action Teams

The task force is made up of three committees known as action teams. The action teams are supported by ACCD Deputy Secretary Ted Brady, Economic Development Commissioner Joan Goldstein, Housing & Community Development Commissioner Josh Hanford and public affairs expert and small business owner Dennise Casey.

Employer Financial and Technical Support Team

The Employer Financial and Technical Support Team will focus on increasing financial and technical support capacity for small and large businesses. Members of this action teams include:

  • Mari McClure, President and CEO, Green Mountain Power, Colchester
  • Colin Owyang, Senior Vice President, General Counsel, VELCO, Rutland
  • Rob Miller, President VSECU, Montpelier
  • Tom Leavitt, President and CEO, Northfield Savings Bank, Northfield
  • Thom Lauzon, Principal, Salvador and Babic, Barre
  • Frank Cioffi, President, GBIC

The Local Support and Community Action Team

The Local Support and Community Action Team will interface with local groups to learn what is being done on the ground in communities and what can be replicated and shared statewide. That team will also identify gaps in recovery efforts to ensure equitable distribution of resources, especially in rural areas and underserved populations. Members of this action teams include:

  • Paul Costello, Vermont Council on Rural Development 
  • Xusana Davis, Executive Director of Racial Equity, State of Vermont
  • Oliver Olsen, Former Legislator & Director, Workday, Londonderry
  • Maura Collins, Executive Director, VHFA, Burlington
  • Ed Vilandrie, Founder, Altman Vilandrie & Company, co-owner Kingdom Taproom, Peacham
  • Sarah Waring, Vice President for Grants and Community Investments, Vermont Community Foundation
  • Catherine Dimitruck, Executive Director, Northwest Regional Planning Commission
  • Nick Richardson, President, Vermont Land Trust
  • Dr. Jude Smith Rachele, CEO, Abundant Sun
  • Lisa Sullivan, Owner, Bartleby's Books

RestartVT Team

The RestartVT Team will help develop plans for the smooth, safe and orderly reopening of the economy in concert with the State Emergency Operations Center and the Department of Health. Members of this action teams include:

  • Deborah Winters, President Firetech Sprinkler, Swanton
  • Walter Frame, EVP and Director, Trapp Lodge and Resort, Stowe
  • Bill Shouldice, President, Vermont Teddy Bear Company, Shelburne
  • Sascha Mayer, Co-founder, Mamava, Burlington
  • John Connor, Connor Contracting, Inc., Berlin
  • John Lyon, Manager, Wilkins Harley Davidson, Essex & Barre

Executive Team

  • Lindsay Kurrle, Secretary, Agency of Commerce & Community Development, Montpelier
  • Michael Pieaciak, Commissioner, Department of Financial Regulation, Brattleboro
  • Michael Harrington, Interim Commissioner, Department of Labor
  • Anson Tebbetts, Secretary, Agency of Agriculture Foods & Markets, Cabot
  • June Tierney, Commissioner, Department of Public Service, Randolph
  • Dennise Casey, President, Casey, Inc., South Burlington

Visit for more inspiration and information on living, working and doing business in Vermont.