Public health guidelines, status updates, FAQs, and other resources from the Department of Health, including signage for businesses: Social Distancing Poster (Small), Social Distancing Poster (Large), Keep Germs from Spreading Poster, and Proper Handwashing Poster.
Information for employees and employers from the Department of Labor. A set of COVID-19 FAQs for Employers and Employees is also available. If you have specific questions, you may wish to contact the Vermont Department of Labor Employer Services line at (802) 828-4344. Please understand that they are experiencing high call volume.
Access the online portal for employees who may be eligible for Unemployment Insurance benefits as a result of COVID-19. This new process means initial unemployment insurance claims can now be filed online.
The Department of Labor does not intend to enforce the provisions of Vermont’s Notice of Potential Layoffs Act against businesses who are forced to lay off employees due to the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic.
Employers closing facilities or engaging in mass layoffs of 50 or more are generally required to provide 45 days’ notice to the Commissioner of Labor and the Secretary of Commerce, and 30 days’ notice to the employees and to the chief elected or administrative official of the municipality where the layoff or closing occurs. However, the Act provides exceptions to that rule in the event that the business closing or mass layoff is caused by business circumstances that were not reasonably foreseeable at the time the 45-day notice would have been required; and/or the business closing or mass layoff is due to a disaster beyond the control of the employer. Affected employers are still encouraged to reach out to the Department of Labor and Agency of Commerce and Community Development for assistance when they are contemplating a layoff.
The Department will provide temporary relief to Vermont businesses who owe Meals and Rooms Tax or Sales and Use Tax.
Businesses that are unable to meet the March 25 and April 25 filing deadlines will not be charged any penalty or interest for late submissions. Business who can meet the deadlines for filing and payment should continue to do so.
It is important to note this is not an abatement of the tax collected. The Commissioner of Taxes does not have the authority to provide an abatement of these taxes once they have been collected. This is also not a cancellation of these taxes moving forward. Therefore, businesses must continue to collect Meals and Rooms and Sales and Use Taxes as they normally would.
Vermonters are advised as well that income tax filing due dates for the following taxes have been extended from April 15, 2020 to July 15, 2020:
- Vermont personal income tax
- Vermont Homestead Declaration and Property Tax Claims
- Corporate income tax
- Fiduciary income tax
This means taxpayers can file and pay these taxes on or before July 15, 2020 without any penalty or interest. This includes any tax year 2020 estimated payments that were due for these taxes on April 15th, 2020. Although the filing deadline has moved, Vermonters can file their returns and claims any time before July 15. Anyone expecting a refund is encouraged to do so.
Information related to changes in regulatory business practices or assistance as it pertains to Coronavirus (COVID-19) from the Department of Financial Regulation.
Guidance urging health insurers to expand coverage and reimbursement of telemedicine services, including audio-only telephone, email, or facsimile where clinically appropriate.
Bulletin intended to ensure that health insurance plans regulated by the Department of Financial Regulation continue to provide access to prescription drugs during the COVID-19 pandemic. This bulletin applies to health insurers, as that term is used in 18 V.S.A. § 9402, and pharmacy benefit managers, as that term is used in 8 V.S.A. § 4089j.
Guidance to address numerous questions from the business community. The NAIC has also posted an Insurance Brief: COVID-19 and Insurance which provides a good overview of how different types of policies respond to losses related to COVID-19, including Travel, Health, Life, Annuities, Business Interruption, Workers' Compensation, and other insurance.
Information on COVID-19 for farms, agricultural businesses, farm markets and service providers from the Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets. The Agency is collecting information via an on-line form on emerging issues in agricultural and food industries.
Information concerning energy, telecommunications, water and wastewater from the Department of Public Service, including:
- New Connectivity Resources during the COVID-19 State of Emergency in Vermont
- Public WiFi Hotspots in Vermont
Information and guidance specific to Vermont schools and Supervisory Unions/Supervisory Districts (SU/SDs) from the Agency of Education.
Information and guidance specific to operational changes for the Public Utility Commission, including:
- Blocks Disconnection of Utility Service During the Coronavirus State of Emergency
- Expands Moratorium on Disconnections to include Non-Residential Ratepayers and Certain Water Companies
- Order Granting Extension of Commissioning Deadlines
Guidance to health care providers and members from the Department of Vermont Health Access.
Information on public health guidelines, status updates, FAQs, and other resources from Vermont Emergency Management, including What (the) Governor's Stay Home/Stay Safe Order Means to Vermonters.
Direction for the public to connect to Agency staff and guidance for Regulated Entities and Permitees, including information to contact regional offices.
Guidance for employers and employees from the Office of the Vermont Attorney General, including a workplace guidance document: COVID-19 Pandemic Resources for Vermont Employers and Employees.
Guidance on enforcement of ‘Stay Home, Stay Safe’ executive order from the Vermont Department of Public Safety.
Guidance from the Vermont Secretary of State.
- Temporary Licensure for Healthcare Workers: On March 13, 2020, the Governor issued a State of Emergency. This means OPR will be issuing temporary licenses to healthcare workers. 3 V.S.A. §129(a)(10). For instructions on how to obtain a temporary license, visit: https://sos.vermont.gov/opr/about-opr/covid-19-response/out-of-state-licensees-temporary-licensees-telehealth/
- Memo to Town Clerks and municipal officials providing some guidance as it relates to the current requirements of the law.
Information for Child Care Programs, Children's Integrated Services Providers and CDD Grantees and Contractors.