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Vermont Department of Housing & Community Development 
2016 Mobile Home Park Registry 

 
Each mobile home park owner pays a fee ($12 per leased lot) with the registration form.  The fee 
is used for leaseholders’ mediation and legal expenses related to the lot rent dispute process, the 
Department’s expenses for conducting the registration and maintaining its mobile home park 
database, and administering the mobile home park law.  A complete listing of mobile home parks 
is available on the Department’s website at accd.vermont.gov/housing. 
 

HISTORY OF PARKS, MOBILE HOME LOTS, VACANCY, MEDIAN RENT 
 

 2012* 2013 2014 2015 2016 
Parks 246 244 242 243 242 
No. of Lots 7,160 7,176 7,125 7,129 7,110 
Vacant Lots 349 352 312 368 363 
Vacancy Rate 4.9% 4.9% 4.4% 5.2% 5.1% 
Median Lot Rent $304 $305 $311 $320 $325 
* Revised No. of Lots and Vacant Lots   

 
2016 COUNTY VACANCY & MEDIAN RENTS 

 
County Parks Lots Vacant Percent Median Rent 
Addison 15 389 3 0.8% $299 
Bennington 25 720 71 9.9% $325 
Caledonia 12 377 44 11.7% $277 
Chittenden 24 1850 26 1.4% $385 
Essex* 2 42 3 7.1% $225 
Franklin 27 460 22 4.8% $353 
Grand Isle* 2 32 5 15.6% $316 
Lamoille 8 322 24 7.5% $247 
Orange 15 281 24 8.5% $335 
Orleans 9 219 12 5.5% $280 
Rutland 28 445 29 6.5% $315 
Washington 25 607 59 9.7% $340 
Windham** 17 505 10 2.0% $239 
Windsor 33 861 31 3.6% $368 
VERMONT 242 7110 363 5.1% $325 
* Counties with only two parks; median rent defaults to the bigger park. State median is middle rent of all MHP lots. 
** Median rent is a park with than half the lots in the county 
 

2016 RENT INCREASE NOTICES  
CPI plus 1% = 3.0% 

 
Number of parks increasing rent ....................145 60% of MH Parks 
Number of MHP lots increased ......................5,521 78% of MHP Lots 
Average percent of increase ...........................3.73%  
Average amount of increase...........................$10.57  
Number of increases > CPI plus 1% ..............37  
   

http://accd.vermont.gov/housing
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