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State of Vermont                                                                                                                            Agency of Commerce and 
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___________________________________________________________________________________________ 

MEMORANDUM 
 
TO:  Vermont Mobile Home Park Owner 

FROM: Department of Housing and Community Development 

RE:     Notification of Intent to Sell a Mobile Home Park 

           10 V.S.A. §6242 and the Housing Division Rules Part I, Rule 13 

 
The provisions of the Mobile Home Park Act and Housing Division Rules that pertain to mobile home 
park sales are designed to preserve the affordability of mobile home parks by giving the owners of 
mobile homes in the park an opportunity to buy the park as a group or approve a non-profit housing 
organization to negotiate for purchase of the park.  Vermont law requires notice to each mobile home 
owner and the Commissioner of the Department of Housing and Community Development before 
attempting to sell a mobile home park.  The law also requires a sale notice before closing a mobile home 
park unless you are not selling the land for at least five years. 
 
From the Notice Date, the mobile home owners have 45-days to decide if they are interested in buying 
the mobile home park. During the 45-day period you may not commit to selling the mobile home park 
to anyone else.  If a majority of the mobile home owners are interested in buying the park or approve a 
non-profit housing organization to negotiate for purchase of the park, they must notify you before the 
end of the 45-day period.  Then you will have an additional 120-day period to negotiate the sale of the 
mobile home park in good faith with each other.   
 
If you pay Vermont income taxes, you may be eligible for a tax credit if you sell the mobile home park 
to the mobile home owners or a non-profit approved by them.  This is an additional factor that you 
should discuss with your attorney or tax preparer.  During the entire 165-day period (45-day notice, 
plus 120-day negotiation period) from the Notice Date, you may not commit to selling the mobile home 
park to anyone except for the mobile home owners or a nonprofit organization they have approved. 
 
If you do not receive notice from the mobile home owners within the 45-day period that they are 
interested in buying the park, or if they let you know they are not interested, then you have one year 
from the end of the 45-day period to sell the mobile home park to someone else for no more than 5 
percent below the price you offered to the mobile home owners in the notice, or no less than 5 percent 
above the final written offer from a group representing a majority of the mobile home owners or a 
nonprofit corporation approved by them. 
 
When the park is sold, the law requires disclosure of the results of any recent sanitary survey, water tests 
taken during the past three years, and applicable State and local permits to the buyer (10 V.S.A. 
§6266(d), and security deposits, if any, must be transferred to the new park owner (10 V.S.A. §6244(f)). 
 
 



 
 
INSTRUCTIONS 
 
You must fully complete, sign, and return the Notification of Intent to Sell a Mobile Home Park form to 
the Commissioner BY CERTIFIED MAIL RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED, and enclose a complete 
list of the names and mailing addresses of the mobile home owners, and a copy of the notification letter 
they received from you.  You must also provide the notice to each mobile home owner BY CERTIFIED 
MAIL RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED.  The notice to the mobile home owners must include a 
notification letter, the Notification of Intent to Sell form, and the park mailing list.  Enclosed is a sample 
notification letter that includes the information required by law. 
 
These forms and instructions are available on our website at accd.vermont.gov/housing.  If you have any 
questions, please call (802) 828-3749 or email arthur.hamlin@vermont.gov. 
 
Enclosures: 
 
1. Notification to Department of Housing and Community Development of Intent to Sell a Mobile 

Home Park form (Effective April 12, 2013 – Revised 1/18/17) 
2. Sample Notification Letter for Park Sale (Effective April 12, 2013 – Revised 1/18/17) 
 



NOTIFICATION TO DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT OF 
INTENT TO SELL A MOBILE HOME PARK 

Effective April 12, 2013 – Revised 1/18/17 

1. Name of Owner(s):  

a. Mailing Address:  b. Phone #:  (W) 

  (H) 

2. Name of Mobile Home Park:  

a. Park Address:  e. # Mobile Home Lots: 

# Mobile Homes at Park: 

 

   

    # Owned by Park Owner:  

# Owned by Leaseholders: 

 

     

 b. 

c. 

d. 

Taxed by City/Town(s):  

Year park established: 

Year(s) of expansion(s): 

  # of Mobile Home Owners:  

    

 f. Lot Rent:  Date of last increase:  

3. Is the park served by municipal water?  sewer?  If no, describe water and septic systems: 

  

 Indicate whether, to your best knowledge, the mobile home park is in compliance with applicable statutes, regulations 
and permits of the following: {Required by 10 V.S.A. Section 6242 (a)(4)} 

 Water: 

Sewer/Septic: 

yes 

yes 

 no 

no 

 Act 250 permit(s): 

Mobile Home Park registration: 

yes 

yes 

 no 

no 

 

    

 Electrical: yes  no  Municipal permits: yes  no  

If no, give reasons for noncompliance:  

  

  

4. a. Asking Price: $  Price Includes: Number of Acres  

  (If more space required use back of form) Other buildings  

 Equipment  

 b. 

 

c. 

Sale Terms:  

 

Is there a private sale pending?  Attach copy if available. 

Please attach names of all mobile home owners, their complete mailing address, lot number, and the number of 
leaseholds held by each. 

CERTIFICATION - I certify that the foregoing and attached information is true and correct. 

Owner’s Signature: 

Date: 
 Co-Owner’s Signature: 

Date: 
 

  
 
SEND BY CERTIFIED MAIL RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED TO MOBILE HOME OWNERS AND: 
 Commissioner Katie Buckley 
 Department of Housing & Community Development 
 One National Life Drive 

Deane C. Davis Building, sixth floor 
 Montpelier, VT  05620-0501 



 

Effective April 12, 2013 – Revised 1/18/17 

INSTRUCTIONS 
 
 
1.   Name and address of owner:  1. Provide the name(s) of actual owner(s) of the mobile home park.  If the 

mobile home park is owned by a partnership or corporation, include all partners or principals of the 
corporation; 1a. Provide the mailing address for the park owner(s); 1b. Telephone number(s) where owner 
can be reached. 

2.   Name and description of the mobile home park:  Provide the name of the mobile home park, if any.  If 
none, the Department uses the park owner(s) name; 2a. Provide the actual physical address/location of the 
mobile home park; 2b. City or Town(s) to which property taxes assessed on the mobile home park are paid; 
2c. Year the park was established; 2d. The year(s), if any, that additional lots were developed in the mobile 
home park; 2e. Number of developed lots in the mobile home park and number of mobile homes currently 
sited; number of mobile homes that you own and number owned by leaseholders; 2f. Current lot rent 
(including any capital improvements surcharge) and the date of the most recent rent increase. 

3.   Utilities and permits:  Answer “Yes” or “No” to indicate whether the mobile home park is served by 
municipal water and sewer.  If “No”, provide explanation as to the water source and type of septic systems 
for the mobile home park.  Check off “Yes” or “No” whether, to the owner’s best knowledge, the mobile 
home park is in compliance with the required permits and/or registrations listed.  For any “No” answer 
provide an explanation of the reason for the noncompliance and any steps being taken to correct the 
noncompliance. 

4.   Asking price and terms:  Provide the asking price for the mobile home park; 4a. Indicate the amount of 
land/acreage that is included, all buildings included with the sale, including any mobile homes that you own 
that are included, garages, equipment, sheds/storage etc.; Provide detailed descriptions of any buildings (e.g. 
type of building, age, size, condition, value); 4b. Sale terms: indicate whether or not there are any special 
conditions to the sale or if, for example, you are offering owner financing; 4c. Indicate whether or not a 
private sale is pending, and if available, attach a copy of any purchase and sale agreement or offer. 

Attach a complete list of the mobile home owners’ names and mailing addresses, lot number, and number of 
leaseholds held by each.  The mobile home park owner must sign and date the form.  SEND BY CERTIFIED 
MAIL RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED to the Commissioner of Housing and Community Development and 
each mobile home owner along with a copy of the notification letter.  

 If you have any questions call (802) 828-3749 or email arthur.hamlin@vermont.gov. 

USE THE SPACE BELOW OR ADDITIONAL SHEETS, IF NEEDED FOR FURTHER 
EXPLANATIONS FOR ANY QUESTION. 
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MOBILE HOME PARK SALE 
NOTIFICATION LETTER TO MOBILE HOME OWNERS 

 
 
Certified Mail Return Receipt Requested  
 

       Date:  ____________________ 
 
Dear Mobile Home Owner(s): 

 
Please be advised that {I/we} intend to sell the mobile home park in which you own a 

mobile home.  Pursuant to State law, {I/we} are required to give you the opportunity to consider 
buying the park before selling it to anyone else, or before closing the park to sell the property 
within five years.  This notice is __ is not __ due to a potential closure of the park.  If a majority 
of the park’s mobile home owners are interested, you may negotiate to buy the mobile home park 
as a group, or approve a nonprofit housing organization to buy the mobile home park.  

 
The property that is for sale includes {describe in detail}: 
 

 Number of Acres ____________ No. MH Lots ____________ 
 Buildings  ____________ Mobile homes ____________ 
 Equip. / Vehicles ____________ Other items ____________  

 
The asking price for the above property is $________________.   
 
The terms and conditions of the sale are:  
___________________________________________________________. 
 
To the best of my/our knowledge, the mobile home park is ___ is not ___ in compliance 

with applicable statutes, regulations and permits.  {Discuss the status of compliance} 
___________________________________________________________. 

 
As required by law, for 45 days following receipt of proper notice to the Department of 

Housing and Community Development and your receipt of this notice, {I/we} will not commit to 
selling the mobile home park to anyone else except a group representing a majority of the mobile 
home owners or a nonprofit corporation approved by you.  A copy of the form filed with the 
Department is enclosed. 

 
If a majority of the mobile home owners are interested in buying the mobile home 

park or authorizing a nonprofit organization to buy it, you must notify {me/us} within 45-
days.  If {I/we} receive notice within the 45-day period from a group representing a majority of 
the mobile home owners or a nonprofit organization approved by you, that you are interested in 
buying the mobile home park, then you will have an additional 120 days to negotiate in good 
faith with {me/us} to buy the mobile home park.  If you exercise your rights within 45-days, then 
during the entire 165-day period, {I/we} will not commit to selling the mobile home park to 



Pg. 2 Vermont Dept. of Housing & Community Development 
 Effective April 12, 2013 – Revised 1/18/17 

anyone else except a group representing a majority of the mobile home owners or a nonprofit 
organization approved by you. 

 
If {I/we} do not receive notice within the 45-day period that a majority of you are 

interested in buying the park or have approved a nonprofit corporation to represent you, then for 
one year after the 45-day period ends {I/we} will be free to sell the mobile home park to 
someone else for no more than five percent below the price disclosed in this notice, or no less 
than five percent above a final written offer made by a group representing a majority of you or a 
nonprofit corporation approved by you. 

 
In a few weeks, the Department of Housing and Community Development may schedule 

an informational meeting to tell you more about your rights.  If you would be interested in 
meeting with the Department or have any questions, contact the Housing Division at (802) 828-
3749 or email arthur.hamlin@vermont.gov. 
 
Sincerely,  
 
{Owner} 
 
 
 
Required Enclosures 
 
List of mobile home owners’ names and mailing addresses, and # of leaseholds 
Notification to Department of Intent to Sell a Mobile Home Park form 
 
cc: Katie Buckley, Commissioner 

Department of Housing and Community Development 

mailto:arthur.hamlin@vermont.gov
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