Northern Border Regional Commission

The Northern Border Regional Commission,  (NBRC) invests in community and economic development projects in economically distressed counties across Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, and New York. In Vermont, six counties are included in the NBRC eligible service territory: Essex, Orleans, Caledonia, Lamoille, Franklin, and Grand Isle. Eligible applicants include public or non-profit entities and applications for grant funding can focus on projects in any of the following program areas: 
•    Transportation infrastructure
•    Basic public infrastructure
•    Telecommunications infrastructure
•    Workforce development, entrepreneurship and businesses and technology development
•    Resources and open space conservation, tourism and recreation
•    Renewable and alternative energy.

In the counties of Essex, Orleans, and Caledonia, projects for basic health care and other public services are also eligible.

Click here for a full list of past NBRC investments in Vermont. Applications for grants are now available here , with letters of intent due on April 30th and final applications due June 2nd. In 2016, the Northern Border Regional Commission awarded $1.8 million in grants for fourteen projects across northern Vermont, including for telecommunications infrastructure in Craftsbury, manufacturing training for workforce development in Franklin County, business assistance for dairies transitioning to organic certification, and assistance with conversion from fossil fuel to advanced wood heating systems, among many other projects.  

Note: For interested applicants, Vermont-specific scoring criteria.

If you have any questions about the Northern Border Regional Commission, please contact Vermont’s NBRC Program Manager, Katie Corrigan at or 802.272.1420

Counties Servied by the NBRC

Counties Served by the NBRC

Contact Us

Katie Corrigan, Manager of International Trade

One National Life Drive
Deane C. Davis Building, 6th Floor
Montpelier, VT 05620-0501

Facebook Twitter You Tube